Sagrada Familia and the Olympic Beach

Hi all! I know it’s been a while. My site has been acting up, and all my pretty pictures have been disappearing from my site. Hopefully (fingers crossed), it’s been fixed now!

If you’re just joining this adventure now, catch up with my most recent trip (Yay Spain!) here and here (Sorry the pictures aren’t there!)!

After we finished our tour of Park Guell, we headed over towards La Sagrada Familia! This was something I desperately wanted to see in Barcelona! You hear about La Sagrada Familia all the time because it’s taken so long to be finished. Plus, my sister had seen it already and said it was a must-see in Barcelona!

img_4179

img_4180

img_4184

This was another Gaudi designed building, so all the detailing is amazing! It was incredible to just look at it, and try and catch all the minute details that went into making the facade.

img_4185

img_4189

 

 

 

And, as amazing as the outside was…it was nothing compared to the inside!

img_4195

 

It’s said that Gaudi designed the inside to look like a forest. I didn’t see it until I looked up.

img_4194

img_4199

img_4201

img_4203

img_4206

img_4208

img_4210

img_4211

The stained glass was probable some of the prettiest I had ever seen (And I have seen a lot of stained glass in my travels!)! It was incredible the way the colors would play off the white marble of the cathedral! I could have spent hours in there just watching the colors change!

After we finished admiring the inside, we headed out the other set of doors to enjoy the new facade, the more modern one.

img_4215

img_4216

img_4219

img_4220

It was much more contemporary, and less frilly, than the other facade. While I liked the other one (Yay frills), this side was still interesting to look at, and figure out the Bible story being told.

img_4225

This is the what the finished design will look like. I’ll have to go back in ten years and see if it looks like this!

Once we finished at la Sagrada Familia, we headed down towards the Olympic Beach to grab some lunch and enjoy the beautiful weather!

img_7529

We actually ate outside (Something that would never happen in January in PA where I’m from) and it was perfect!

img_7530

img_7532

img_7534

We headed down to the beach, and put our hands in the water, since we weren’t willing to take our shoes off and put our feet in.

img_7540

img_7541

img_7551

Once we finished on the beach, we had the evening to ourselves. We decided to hike over to the Picasso Museum! I was so excited to see more of Pablo Picasso’s work. When I was in Amsterdam, I saw the Van Gogh Museum, and figured it was only fitting to see the Picasso Museum while I was in Barcelona!

You can read about the Van Gogh Museum here!

picasso

You aren’t allowed to take pictures in the museum itself (I got yelled at trying to snap a pic in the lobby!) so I grabbed this pic of the sign as we left.

The museum was phenomenal! It was set up to explore his work chronologically; it was wonderful to see Picasso’s work evolve like that!

After the museum, we grabbed some dinner, and headed back to the hotel, where I drank quite a bit of sangria in the lobby!

Stay tuned for our last day in Barcelona, and see where we headed next!

Leave a Reply

