Hurling and Appologizes

So, I’ve been slacking a little on the blog posts (I was just chastised by my mother via Skype less than an half an hour ago), so I’ll try and pick them up. We have a lot to cover so hang tight!

As I’m sure you can guess, a lot had happened in the past week (I went to Amsterdam!) which will have to wait! This post is less exciting but still cool.

 

So, we got to see a hurling match today. Now, Hurling is like a combination of field hockey, soccer, lacrosse, and football. Basically, a bunch of men chase a small ball around a field while carrying wooden sticks.

IMG_4453

I wasn’t quite sure of the rules (or which team I liked) so I basically cheered when everyone else did.

The gist (from what I could gather) is that each team has 15 guys: 1 goalie, 6 defense, 2 mid-field, and 6 offense. The main object is to get the ball down the field and score. But you can carry it, kick it, hit it, whack it with your hurly, and basically do whatever necessary to get the ball down the field.

IMG_4454

When you get it down there, you can shoot it between the goal posts for 1 point, or into the net for 3 points.

IMG_4464

There are also all types of ways you can foul, but don’t ask me what they are.

At half-time, they invite out the Tiny Tots, who are basically toddlers that are learning to play Hurling. I almost stole like 40 little kids, cause they were all so stinkin’ cute with their little hurlies!

IMG_4462

IMG_4465

People here really love the game, and even though I didn’t quite understand I’m glad I got to see something that is essential to the culture of the place I’m staying.

IMG_4463

The final score was 14 Waterford, Dublin 19. Waterford is in the blue and white, and Dublin in the blue and navy.

Keep your eyes peeled for my next post all about how I got lucky…

Leave a Reply

