Classes have begun

Classes have started and the party has officially ended. Well, maybe not so much. But now I have to be all responsible because I do have class at 8:15 am (and I was not a happy camper this morning, let me tell you!)

Nothing too major has happened. At orientation Sunday afternoon, she asked for volunteers to be the pint-of-contact people between the town and the school. Your’s truly volunteered. I get to help plan events, meet with locals, and make sure everyone on the trip is doing okay. I figured this was a good way for me to meet the other people on this adventure with me (and if you really know me, you know I just like to be in charge of things!).
Last night our wonderful professor took us all to the pub Merry’s and proceeded to buy everyone there first round. I tried a Jameson and Ginger, and it was really good. We spent the night sampling all other types of delicious Irish drinks, and still managed to wake up at the ass-crack of dawn for class.

My classes should be good. Lot of Irish history, which I ‘m super excited about. My first class is Lifespan Development, followed by The Great War, followed by Modern Irish Literature and Film. On Tuesday/Thursday, I have my Ethics class. It’s not a heavy course load by any stretch of the imagination for which I am very grateful.

And now, since I have nothing else to report, prepare yourselves for photo overload. You were warned…

IMG_3700

We look like a hot mess due to no sleep and 6 hours on an airplane, but this is on the bus to Dungarvan.

IMG_3702

Lucky Townhouse Number 3, where I will be residing for the next 3 months.

IMG_3709

The townhouses overlook the bay, and a lovely turn around.

IMG_3708

IMG_3710

The freakiest attempt at a panoramic picture

IMG_3711

The main squareΒ 

IMG_3712

Beautiful Dungarvan Bay!

IMG_3725

Sending love on Valentines Day!

IMG_3713

IMG_3723

IMG_3718

My lovely roomie, Naomi and I.

IMG_3727

IMG_3728

Jameson and Ginger

IMG_3729

Bulmers (one of my new fav drinks!)

IMG_3731

Naomi and Kelsey (our “mama cat”) trying real Irish GuinnessΒ 

IMG_3734

Me drinking Guinness. It’s sooo much better here than in the States!

IMG_3740

The ladies of Townhouse 3

IMG_3738

And the best salad I’ve ever eaten!

IMG_3747

The start of classes : (

IMG_3748

The delicious Aromatic Duck Wrap from Jitterbeans! Normally not a duck person, but this was soo tasty!

IMG_3749

The most delicious pastry ever: fondant!

IMG_3751

And the half masticated remains of my fondant! The filling was incredible!

IMG_3753

We found a cute lil wine shop (and FYI, Ireland doesn’t do sweet wines. Who knew?) so we bought a bottle and day drank and did homework.

IMG_3754

My super good salmon dinner at the Park Hotel. They like their veggies here. Everything comes with a side of “veg.”

IMG_3756

One very large drink

IMG_3758

Our favorite pub, Merry’s

IMG_3760

IMG_3759

IMG_3762

The boats are starting to arrive again. They had been gone for the winter since the water in the bay drops too low.

IMG_3766

Dungarvan Bay by night

IMG_3768

Naomi and I

 

 

And with that, I will bid you folks all a good night.

I warned you about all the pictures!

 

Leave a Reply

